Yagnavalkya and his wife

Yagnavalkya said to his wife: “Maitreyi, I am resolved to give up the world and begin the life of renunciation. I wish therefore to divide my property between you and my other wife, Katyayani.”

Maitreyi replied: “My lord, if this whole world belonged to me, with all its wealth, should I through its possession attain immortality?”

Yagnavalkya: “No. Your life would be like that of the rich.None can hope to attain immortality through wealth. ”

Maitreyi: “Then what need have I of wealth? Please, my lord, tell me what you know about the way to immortality.”

Yagnavalkya: ” Dear to me have you always been, Maitreyi, and now you ask to learn of that truth which is nearest my heart. Come, sit by me. I will explain it to you. Meditate on what I say.

It is not for the sake of the husband, my beloved, that the husband is dear, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the wife, my beloved, that the wife is dear, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the children, my beloved, that the children are dear, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of wealth, my beloved, that wealth is dear, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the Brahmins, my beloved, that the Brahmins are held in reverence, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the higher worlds, my beloved, that the higher worlds are desired, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the gods, my beloved, that the gods are worshipped, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of the creatures, my beloved, that the creatures are prized, but for the sake of the Self.

It is not for the sake of itself, my beloved, that anything whatever is esteemed, but for the sake of the Self..

The Self, Maityreyi, is to be known. Hear about it, reflect upon it, meditate upon it. By knowing the Self, my beloved, through hearing, reflection, and meditation, one comes to know all things.”

Brihadaranyaka Upanishad

