Individual eating plan

I’ve written this all out once today and for some reason it wouldn’t publish! Annoying…let’s try again.

A well-known yoga teacher, Ruth White, once met Iyengar and asked him, ‘What should I be eating?’ He gave her a playful slap and replied, ‘How should I know?’ In other words, we each of us need to work out our own nutrition according to our own needs. Yoga is a journey of self-discovery and it will help you see clearly and to intuite what nutrition will serve you best. All serious yoga teachers are vegan or vegetarian. The first rule of yoga is AHIMSA, non-violence, and this must be obeyed.

I have honed my breakfast down to perfection over a period of many years. It includes kefir, pumpkin and sunflower seeds, flaxseed, ginger, walnuts, cider vinegar and honey, and blackstrap molasses. It suits me, but each person has to work out what suits them.

This is, of course, also true about the exercise you take, and the work/rest schedule that you set up. If you have any queries, take them into your yoga practice – take them on to your mat.

OM Shanti Shanti Shanti